LibraryUnit adding scripts to simulate

Why OSVVM™? Forums OSVVM LibraryUnit adding scripts to simulate

• This topic has 4 replies, 2 voices, and was last updated 1 year ago by Li.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Li

Hi OSVVM fans,

I am new to this method and have just created my first project. I need to use a .tcl file to initialize a RAM. The following description I have found:

Adding Scripts to Simulate
    Often with simulations, we want to add a custom waveform file.
    This may be for all designs or just one particular design.
    We may also need specific actions to be done when running
    on a particular simulator.
    When simulate (or RunTest) is called, it will source the following files in order, if they exist:

<ToolVendor>.tcl
    <ToolName>.tcl
    wave.do
    <LibraryUnit>.tcl
    <LibraryUnit>_<ToolName>.tcl
    <TestCaseName>.tcl
    <TestCaseName>_<ToolName>.tcl

ToolVendor is either {Aldec, Siemens, Cadence, Synopsys}.
    ToolName is one of {QuestaSim, ModelSim, RivieraPRO, ActiveHDL, VCS, Xcelium}.
    LibraryUnit is the name specified to simulate.
    TestCaseName is the name specified to TestCase.

I don’t quite understand what is LibraryUnit name here. I’d appreciate it if someone can explain it more to me. Thanks!
    Li

Jim Lewis

LibraryUnit in this case is the name which you used with simulate, hence, either the name of your testbench or configuration that runs your testbench. Often, I try to make this the same as the TextCaseName, but it does not have to be.

In VHDL, LibraryUnit is an analyzed Design Unit and from the LRM,

A design unit is
    either an entity declaration, an architecture body, a configuration declaration, a package declaration, a
    package body, a package instantiation declaration, a context declaration, or a PSL verification unit. (13.1)

Li

Hi Jim,

thanks for the explanation. I tried to post some more detail but I got this: