Question to the OSVVM community: how to approach the methodology, learning curve

Why OSVVM™? Forums OSVVM Question to the OSVVM community: how to approach the methodology, learning curve

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Andrea

Hello all,

I am new with OSVVM and I’d have some questions about the learning curve time and other details to consider.
    In my past experience I worked as VHDL developer, so the reason why I would like to use OSVVM is that I do not want to learn SystemVerilog (for UVM). Second, in my current company there are few people that work as FW engineer and there is not a distinction between developer and verification engineer. We are a small team and at the moment we have not any Simulator license for example.
    During the last year we used Matlab/Simulink with HDL coder to develop VHDL IPCore to be integrated into a Vivado reference design which is developed by an third-party company (out-sourcing). We are not happy with MathWorks tools and so we are evaluating the other possibility of algorithm development and verification.
    Ah, I have forgot, in my team we work with FPGA and mainly image processing algorithm.

I would have the following question to ask to the OSVVM community:

1. Amount of time needed to learn the methodology and to get familiar with the library?

2. Amount of time needed to develop a missing Verification IP (e.g. AXI4 Full)?

3. How to handle the DUT that is a DSP algorithm?
    Basing on my back experience I always used input/output test-vector pre-generated using a reference model (in Matlab or C). This means in the VHDL tb, read the input test/vector and write VHDL result to file. Then (offline) post process the data to check if the VHDL result matches the reference one.

4. I watched some tutorials about OSVVM and, if I am not wrong, the Simulator Vendor which is pushing for OSVMM seems to be ALDEC. What about the others, Mentor?