Simulating Backpressure with the AXIS VC

Why OSVVM™? Forums OSVVM Simulating Backpressure with the AXIS VC

Tagged: 

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Brad Adam

Hello,

I’ve been using OSVVM for several months with great success but I’ve run into a problem with simulating backpressure. At a high level my test bench looks like the following:

AXIS Transmitter –> DUT –> AXIS Receiver

I’d like to test my DUT for operation in the case that the AXIS Receiver is not ready for more data but the transmitter is ready to send. I’ve looked into the AXIS Receiver VC and found that the TReady signal is set by the DoAxiReadyHandshake() function but at the end of the transaction it looks like this function sets TReady to ‘0’. I’m not seeing where this would be set back to ‘1’ so that I could possibly control that and simulate the receiver not being ready for more data.

Is there a way to more directly control this ready signal in OSVVM? Or maybe there is already a system in place for simulating backpressure that I am not familiar with?

Any help is much appreciated.

Jim Lewis

Hi Adam,
    Currently the features that control these is described on pages 26 and 27 of the AxiStream_user_guide.pdf in OsvvmLibraries/Documentation. There are two controls for this:
    RECEIVE_READY_BEFORE_VALID – this is true by default and allows TReady to be generated even if TValid is not asserted.
    RECEIVE_READY_DELAY_CYCLES – Number of clocks to delay the assertion of TReady. This setting depends on the RECEIVE_READY_BEFORE_VALID setting. If RECEIVE_READY_BEFORE_VALID is TRUE, then delay (in clocks) is referenced to the completion of the previous cycle. If RECEIVE_READY_BEFORE_VALID is FALSE, then delay (in clocks) is referenced to when RValid is asserted.